web analytics
Home | DALLAS / FORT WORTH | Association News | Safety in numbers

Safety in numbers

image STEP Award recipients

DALLAS/FORT WORTH – It’s safe to say that hundreds of construction industry members will be more careful on jobsites after attending TEXO, The Construction Association’s 2nd annual Construction Safety Professional’s Day. Hosted Nov. 3 at Grapevine Convention Center, the event featured booths brimming with safety products and offered thought-provoking sessions addressing construction safety. Speakers included TDIndustries’ Harold MacDowell, Werner Co.’s Dan Ward and Chad Hymas, who became a quadriplegic at age 27 due to an accident. Safety training evaluation program (STEP) and Construction Safety Excellence awards were also presented at the event. –mjm

ABC Safety Training Evaluation Program (STEP) Recipients

Gold Level:
Joeris General Contractors
LASCO Acoustics & Drywall
Satterfield & Pontikes Construction Inc.

Platinum Level:
Austin Commercial LP
Basfield & Gorrie LLC
M.C. Dean Inc.
Marek Bros. Systems
MDI Inc. General Contractors
Rogers-O’Brien Construction Company
W.G. Yates & Sons

Diamond Level:
Balfour Beatty Construction
Chamberlin Roofing & Waterproofing
Johnston Products
Kwest Group
Manhattan Construction Company
Polk Mechanical

17th Annual Construction Safety Excellence Local Award Winners

Building Category:
LEMCO Construction (Under 100,000 Work Hours)
Cadence McShane Construction (200,000-300,000 Work Hours)*
Structure Tone Southwest (400,000-600,000 Work Hours)

Construction Management Category:
Skiles Group Inc. (Under 200,000 Work Hours)
Austin Commercial LP (Over 1 Million Work Hours)*

Highway & Transportation Category:
Ed Bell Construction (450,000-650,000 Work Hours)*

Specialty Category:
Marek Bros. Systems Inc. (100,000-500,000 Work Hours)
Prime Controls LP (600,000-800,000 Work Hours)
TDIndustries (over 3 Million Work Hours)*

Raymond L. Critchfield Scholarship Recipients:
Rodrigo Tejirina
Ethan Fenley

*National AGC Construction Safety Excellence Building Category winners

Need a Reprint?

Author Info

Melissa Jones-Meyer dfweditor@constructionnews.net